Hariban Award

Hariban Award ’15 – First Round Selected Photographers

The time has come to announce the first round of selected photographers from this year’s Hariban Award competition! We received almost twice as many submissions as last year from photographers all around the globe, each one contributing to a highly talented and promising pool of entrants. Picking and choosing the work that will benefit most from a relationship with Benrido and the collotype process was no easy task. Explore the first round of selections below!

本年度のHariban Awardの一次選考結果をお知らせできることを喜ばしく思います。本年度のコンテストには世界中から昨年と比べおよそ二倍の応募が寄せられ、各作品のクオリティは非常に高く、才能豊かで前途有望な応募作品揃いとなりました。便利堂のコロタイププリントとのコラボレーションにふさわしい作品を選出するのは、非常に困難を極めるものでした。それではここに、一次選考の通過作家をお知らせします!

Selected Photographers: 1st round

Daniel Ackerman, Patricia Ackerman, Hiroyuki Adachi, Kundig Aline, Jim Baab, Olivier Barreyre-Beraud, Thiago Barros, Emily Bates, Alexander Binder, Ivan Boiko, Jacqueline Butler, Albarran Cabrera, Anthony Cairns, Angela Casagrande, Eiffel Chong, Michael Corridore, Misha de Ridder, Tiane Doan na Champassak, Penny Dunstan, Lisa Elmaleh, Felipe Enger, Flore Flore, Joe Freeman, Cedric Friggeri, Dana Fritz, Sharon Lee Hart, Brett Henrikson, Paloma Jimenez, Eunhee John, Manu Jougla, Anna Kadykova, Hirata Kai, Everett  Kennedy Brown, Babak Kianifard, Carla Kogelman, Madeleine Kukic, Michael  Lundgren, John Ma, Christine Mathieu, Marcia Michael, Irene Nelson, Christopher Nickel, Kanako Oho, Marie Passa, Piotr Pietryga, Omaar Reyna, Patricia Richards, Jeffrey Rinehart, Helena Rios, Constantin Schlachter, Kaoru Seki, David Shannon-Lier, Alexandra Shanovich, Erin Solomons, Len Speier, Colin Stearns, Lior Tamim, Paul Thulin, Chris Vanden Broeke, Stefan Vanthuyne, Metka Vergnion, Nathaniel Ward, Hiroshi Watanabe, Allan Weitz, Dan Winters, Steven Yen, Miji Yoon, 月永 進, 青嵜 直樹, 山縣 勉, 山口 祐子, 倉谷 拓朴, 川島茂人, 中川 祥吾, 藤井 春奈, 安村 尋, コウムラ シュウ, 福永 和三郎, 内田 亜里, 福嶋 幸平. (Alphabetical order and Japanese names at the end)

Statement by Tsuyoshi Ito

It has been incredibly rewarding and exciting to review the large volume of submissions that we received this year from all around the globe. In selecting the first round of photographers for the 2015 Hariban Award, I kept a number of criteria in mind. First and foremost, I am interested in a marriage of form and content. I chose work that was not just descriptive but also formally suited for the collotype process.

In addition, the selected photographs have a clear interpretation of the photographers world view. I chose work that offered me an invitation into that world. Black and white can be a very personal and expressive medium, and I enjoy work that explores those possibilities furthest. I believe this group of photographers presents a strong potential for collaboration with the Benrido Atelier and look forward to the remainder of the process.

The winners, announced in August, will be chosen from these names. The panel of jurors consists of Michael Hoppen, Amanda Maddox, Lucille Reyboz, and Tsuyoshi Ito, each a distinguished member of the international photography community. To receive the latest update, sign up for Hariban Award newsletters.


本年度、世界中か寄せられた非常に多くの応募作品を審査することは、わくわくする、やりがいのある体験でした。2015年度のHariban Award の一次審査においては、様々な選考基準をもって臨むよう務めました。私の興味をもっとも引くのは、形式と内容がうまく組み合わされている作品です。選ばれた作品は、その描写や表現形式がコロタイププリントプロセスにマッチしているだけでなく、写真家独自の世界観が明確に解釈されているものでした。私はそのような写真世界へと導いてくれるような作品を選出しました。


上記のリストの中から、8月に受賞者が発表されます。審査員はマイケル・ホッペン、アマンダ・マドックス、ルシール・レイボーズ、そして私イトウツヨシの4名です。いずれも海外の写真シーンで名のある方々ばかりです。Hariban Award の最新ニュースを読むには、こちらからサインアップしてください。

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *